32 Counties Eligible to Apply for Disaster Unemployment Insurance Benefits


For Release: August 18, 2010
Joe Bervid: (515) 281-8117
Kerry Koonce: (515) 281-9646

Printer icon Printer Friendly PDF Version

32 Counties Eligible to Apply for Disaster Unemployment Insurance Benefits

DES MOINES, IOWA - Iowans living or working in Black Hawk, Cherokee, Clayton, Decatur, Delaware, Dubuque, Fayette, Franklin, Hamilton, Howard, Humboldt, Ida, Jackson, Jasper, Jones, Kossuth, Lee, Lucas, Lyon, Mahaska, Marion, O'Brien, Osceola, Polk, Ringgold, Sioux, Story, Taylor, Union, Warren, Webster, and Wright counties recently declared disaster areas may be eligible for unemployment insurance benefits under the federal Disaster Unemployment Assistance program. The federal government declared these 32 counties as a weather-related disaster area on August 14, 2010 as a result of the tornadoes, severe storms, and flooding.

“If you live or work in these 32 counties and have lost your job due to the recent bad weather, you should apply for these federal benefits,” said Elisabeth Buck, Director of Iowa Workforce Development.

Claims need to be filed by September 17, 2010, according to Buck. The benefits cover self-employed workers not usually entitled to unemployment insurance, including Iowa farmers. People applying for DUA need to provide proof of past earnings, such as business records or bank statements and their most recent income tax form, at the time they file their claim. Any Iowa Workforce Development Center can accept DUA claims, including the following offices located in the affected county:

Algona: (515) 295-7219
Maquoketa: (563)
Ames: (515) 232-6572
Mason City: (641)
Cherokee: (712) 225-2274  Newton: (641)
Creston: (641) 782-2119  Oelwein: (319)
Dakota City/Humboldt:
(515) 332-2145
Orange City: (712)
Decorah: (563) 382-0457
Oskaloosa: (641)
Des Moines: (515)
Osceola: (641) 342-4955
Dubuque: (563) 556-5800
Pella: (641) 628-4511
Fort Dodge: (515)
Red Oak: (712) 623-2569
Fort Madison: (319)
Spencer: (712) 262-1971
Keokuk: (319) 524-1862
Waterloo: (319) 235-2123
Manchester: (563)
Webster City: (515)

In addition to assistance filing a DUA claim, Iowa Workforce Development Centers offer reemployment services, including testing, counseling and placement. Job search and career information also is available through Iowa Workforce Development’s Web site at www.iowaworkforce.org.