Eleven Iowa Counties Eligible to Apply for Disaster Unemployment Insurance Benefits


For Immediate Release
Joe Bervid (515) 281-8117
Kerry Koonce (515) 281-9646

Printer icon Printer Friendly PDF Version

DES MOINES, IOWA - Iowans living or working in any of the 11 Iowa counties recently declared disaster areas may be eligible for unemployment insurance benefits under the federal Disaster Unemployment Assistance program. The federal government declared the counties of Cass, Fremont, Harrison, Ida, Mills, Montgomery, Page, Pottawattamie, Shelby, Taylor and Union as weather-related disaster areas on May 25, 2007.

“If you live or work in one of those 11 counties and have lost your job due to the recent bad weather, you should apply for these federal benefits,” said David Neil, Interim Director, Iowa Workforce Development.

Claims need to be filed by June 30, 2007, according to Neil. The benefits cover self-employed workers not usually entitled to unemployment insurance, including Iowa farmers. People applying for DUA need to provide proof of past earnings, such as business records or bank statements and their most recent income tax form, at the time they file their claim. Any Iowa Workforce Development Center can accept DUA claims, including the following offices located in the affected counties:

Atlantic 500 Popular Street (712) 243-2351
Council Bluffs 300 W Broadway Ste 13 (712) 242-2100
Clarinda 121 S 15th Street (712) 527-5214
Creston 215 N Elm (641) 782-2119
Harlan 1210 7th Street Ste D (712) 755-3777
Shenandoah 500 N Broad St (712) 246-4470
Osceola 2520 W McLane (641) 342-4955
Red Oak 1000 N Broadway (712) 623-2569
Sioux City 2508 4th St (712) 233-9030
Storm Lake 824 Flindt Dr Ste 106 (712) 732-1576
Carroll 619 N Carroll St (712) 792-2685

In addition to assistance filing a DUA claim, Iowa Workforce Development Centers offer reemployment services, including testing, counseling and placement. Job search and career information also is available through Iowa Workforce Development’s Web site at www.iowaworkforce.org.