Iowa's Layoff Notification Law Now in Effect


For Release: July 12, 2010
Contact: Kerry Koonce: (515) 281-9646

Printer icon Printer Friendly PDF Version

Iowa’s Layoff Notification Law Now in Effect

Des Moines –Legislation passed during the 2010 Session requiring Iowa employers to provide notification of a layoff or closure affecting 25 or more employees 30 days in advance is now in effect.

“Federal requirements regarding notification of layoffs are targeted to large companies and have little impact on Iowa’s businesses that typically have fewer than 100 employees, stated Iowa Workforce Development Director Elisabeth Buck. “The new Iowa Layoff Notification Law will allow Iowa Workforce Development the opportunity to connect with dislocated workers early on in the process, leading to a more efficient delivery of workforce services.”

The decision to reduce or eliminate a portion of a company’s workforce is difficult for all parties involved in the process. Iowa Workforce Development provides a number of services for both dislocated workers and Iowa businesses through our IowaWORKS Centers. These services are provided free of charge, completed in concert with the employer, organized labor, and the affected employees. Services are activated when an employer completes their responsibilities under the Iowa Layoff Notification Law or the Federal WARN Act.



Comparison of the Iowa Layoff Notification Law and the Federal WARN Act


  Iowa Layoff Notification Law Federal WARN Act
Applies to: Companies with 25 or more employees. Companies with 100 or more employees.
Goes into effect when: A company permanently reduces their workforce by 25 or more. Closing: when 50 or more employees will be affected during a 30-day period.

Mass Layoff: when 500 or more employees or 33% of the workforce will permanently lose their job during a 30-day period.

Length of notice required: 30-days 60-days
Information required in the notice: Company Name, Address, Business Contact Information, Date of Event, Names and Addresses of Affected Employees Company Name, Address, Business Contact Information, Date of Event, Job Titles and Number of Affected Employees in Each Classification
Enforcement through: Iowa Workforce Development US Department of Labor & United States District Courts
Penalties: Penalty not to exceed $100 per day for period of violation. Penalty not to exceed $500 dollars per day of violation.