Records Requests

In keeping with the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) and the Iowa Open Records Act, Iowa Workforce Development is committed to providing assistance to those seeking access to open records created by or in the legal custody of our agency.  Any person may submit their request to examine and copy an open record created by or in the custody of the Iowa Workforce Development through this portal.

The department shall hold confidential the information obtained from an employing unit or individual in the course of administering this chapter and the initial determination made by a representative of the department under section 96.6, subsection 2, as to the benefit rights of an individual. The department shall not disclose or open this information for public inspection in a manner that reveals the identity of the employing unit or the individual, except as provided in subparagraph (3) or paragraph “c”. Iowa Code § 96.11(6)(b)(1); 20 CFR 603. To obtain confidential information a requesting party must show entitlement to such information under Iowa Code § 96.11(6).  All fact-finding records, including audio recordings, are confidential and can only be released to the claimant and employer. 

When submitting your request, be sure to detail exactly which records are requesting.  Try to be as specific as possible to ensure that you receive what you are seeking. For example: 

  • "I would like copies of my entire unemployment insurance file."
  • "I would like copies of my unemployment insurance appeal file."  
  • “I would like the audio recording from my recent appeal hearing.”
  • “I would like copies of all correspondence between specific members of an agency staff and another organization from June 10, 2016 through December 1, 2016.”

After you have submitted your initial request to this portal you will receive an email of confirmation.  You must return to your submission and attach a signed Waiver and/or Authorization, or any other supporting documents, i.e. Subpoena.  Records are confidential and will not be released unless proper signed Waiver and/or Authorization is provided.  If you do not have a signed Waiver and/or Authorization, please use the link below to complete and upload to your submitted request.

Download Waiver

Submit a Records Request

For record requests the following fees will apply pursuant to Iowa Code 96.11(6)(e) and 20 CFR 603.8:

FEE SCHEDULE

Service

Charge

Agency Record Fee

.25¢ per page

Digital Recording Fee

$10.00

Custodian of Record Fee

$28.43 per hour

All fees must be paid in advance before records will be provided.

Agency Record Fee · A charge of .25¢ per page will be incurred for all records provided by this agency.

Digital Recording Fee · A flat fee of $10.00 is required for the production of any and all audio recordings.

Custodian of Record Fee · These fees are based upon the hourly salary of the staff involved.  These fees are for the search, redaction and production of agency records.   Charges will be made for actual time spent.

The following records do not require submission to the portal.

Requesting Records for the following documents may be requested directly by calling (866) 239-0843.

  • Pending claims for benefits by claimant or employer;
  • Any decision or letter previously provided to claimant or employer
  • Verification of benefit dates or payments by claimant or employer;
  • Fact-finding decisions or exhibits by claimant or employer;
  • Documents for tax purposes for paid claims; or
  • Documents regarding applications for financial assistance from Maintenance Programs such as FIP, food stamps, childcare assistance or Title XIX.    

Wage and Benefit Verifications should be submitted directly to the Unemployment Insurance Department, ATTN:  Oscar Rosales at oscar.rosales@iwd.iowa.gov or (515) 725-3753.

LABOR DIVISION RECORDS

For labor division record requests the following fees will apply:

FEE SCHEDULE

Service Charge
AMANDA database search $65.00
Black & white records $0.50 per page
Color records $1.00 per page
Supervisory, scan and search fee if more than 15 minutes $20.00 per hour
Video/Audio recordings $10.00 per recording
Certified records $1.00 per page
Other computer runs

$20.00 per hour
and
$0.10 per page

 

Individual