Disaster Unemployment Assistance Filing Deadline Extended for Second Time


For Immediate Release
Contacts: Joe Bervid (515) 281-8117
Kerry Koonce (515) 281-9646

Printer icon Printer Friendly PDF Version

Disaster Unemployment Assistance Filing Deadline Extended for Second Time
Provides Farmers Additional Time to Assess Crop Situation

Des Moines, Iowa – Iowa Workforce Development has requested and received an extension of the filing deadline for Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA). All 67 counties declared eligible for DUA, including recently declared Appanoose, Clarke, Monroe and Ringgold, have an extended filing deadline of September 12, 2008.

"Today's announcement will help many Iowans who have been affected by this year's natural disasters," said Governor Culver. "As Governor, I am committed to helping return life to normal for those who have been affected, and will continue to work with individuals at every level to ensure Iowans have the resources they need."

Iowans living or working in any of the 67 declared counties who have lost their job due to the recent bad weather, should apply for these federal benefits. The disaster declaration is for the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding which began on May 25, 2008 and continued through June.

“This is welcomed relief for Iowans across the state,” indicated Iowa Workforce Development Director Elisabeth Buck. “The original filing extension was set to expire today. This extension provided needed relief to Iowans and farmers in particular who are still making assessments of crop damage.”

All claims need to be filed by the extended deadline of September 12, 2008, according to Buck. The benefits cover self-employed workers not usually entitled to unemployment insurance, including Iowa farmers. People applying for DUA need to provide proof of past earnings, such as business records or bank statements and their most recent income tax form, at the time they file their claim. Any Iowa Workforce Development Center can accept DUA claims or individuals can file on the Workforce website at “file an unemployment claim”.

Those eligible for benefits in addition to individuals who lost their jobs directly due to the severe storms, flooding, and tornadoes may also include: (1) individuals who are unable to reach their job or self-employment location because they must travel through the affected area and are prevented from doing so by the disaster, (2) individuals who were to commence employment or self-employment but were prevented by the disaster, (3) individuals who became the breadwinner or major support for a household because of the death of the head of household due to the disaster, or (4 )individuals who cannot work or perform services in self-employment because of an injury caused as a direct result of the disaster. Unemployment is a direct result of the major disaster if the unemployment resulted from: (1) the physical damage or destruction of the place of employment; (2) the physical inaccessibility of the place of employment due to its closure by the federal, state, or local government in immediate response to the disaster; or (3) lack of work, or loss of revenues, if, prior to the disaster, the employer or self-employed business received at least a majority of its revenue or income from an entity in the major disaster area that was damaged or destroyed in the disaster or an entity in the major disaster area closed by the federal, state, or local government.

In addition to assistance filing a DUA claim, Iowa Workforce Development Centers offer reemployment services, including testing, counseling and placement. Job search and career information also is available through Iowa Workforce Development’s web site at www.iowaworkforce.org.