Five Counties Eligible to Apply for Disaster Unemployment Insurance Benefits


For Immediate Release: October 27, 2011
Contact: Carol Morgan
Telephone: (712) 242-2131

Printer icon Printer Friendly PDF Version

Five Counties Eligible to Apply for Disaster Unemployment Insurance Benefits

DES MOINES, IOWA - Iowans living or working in Fremont, Harrison, Mills, Monona and Pottawattamie counties recently declared disaster areas may be eligible for unemployment insurance benefits under the federal Disaster Unemployment Assistance program. The federal government declared these five counties as a weather-related disaster area eligible for individual assistance, in October for flooding.

“If you live or work in these five counties and have lost your job due to the summer flooding, you should apply for these federal benefits,” said Teresa Wahlert, director of Iowa Workforce Development.

Claims need to be filed by November 28, 2011, according to Wahlert. The benefits cover self-employed workers not usually entitled to unemployment insurance, including Iowa farmers. People applying for DUA need to provide proof of past earnings, such as business records or bank statements and their most recent income tax form, at the time they file their claim. Any IowaWORKS Center can accept DUA claims, including the following offices:

IowaWORKS – Council

300 West Broadway, Suite 13 

Telephone: (712) 242-2100 

8:00-4:30 PM Monday – Thursday

9:00 – 4:30P M Friday
IowaWORKS – Sioux City

2508 Fourth Street

Telephone: (712) 233-9030

8:30-4:30 PM Monday – Friday

Additionally, individuals can file a regular unemployment claim online at and include “DUA Claim” in the notes section.

In addition to assistance filing a DUA claim, IowaWORKS Centers offer reemployment services, including testing, counseling and placement. Job search and career information also is available through Iowa Workforce Development’s Web site at