Official State of Iowa Website Here is how you know

Local Workforce Development Boards


Local Workforce Development Areas

9 Local Areas

Central IowaEast Central IowaMississippi ValleyNorth Central IowaNortheast IowaNorthwest IowaSouth Central IowaSouthwest IowaWestern Iowa

Archived Regional Board Map and archived content.

About Local Area Boards

The State of Iowa has nine Local Workforce Development Areas, each with its own Local Workforce Development Board (LWDB). LWDB's were established under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA).  Each Local Area Board oversees the implementation of America's public workforce system in local Iowa communities. Local Workforce Boards work closely with Iowa Workforce Development and the Iowa State Workforce Development Board to create a system that strengthens and improves Iowa's workforce.  Local Workforce Boards help Iowans find and maintain high-quality jobs, develop careers, and each Local Workforce Board assists Iowa employers in hiring and retaining skilled workers.       

Local Workforce Development Boards by area include:

Central Iowa

Counties include: Boone, Dallas, Jasper, Madison, Marion, Polk, Story, and Warren

East Central Iowa

Counties include: Benton, Cedar, Iowa, Johnson, Jones, Linn, and Washington

Mississippi Valley

Counties include: Clinton, Des Moines, Henry, Jackson, Lee, Louisa, Muscatine, and Scott

North Central

Counties include: Calhoun, Hamilton, Humboldt, Pocahontas, Webster, and Wright 


Counties include: Allamakee, Black Hawk, Bremer, Buchanan, Butler, Cerro Gordo,Chickasaw, Clayton, Delaware, Dubuque, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Grundy,  Hancock, Howard, Mitchell, Winnebago, Winneshiek, and Worth


Counties include: Buena Vista, Clay, Dickinson, Emmet, Kossuth, Lyon, O’Brien, Osceola,  Palo Alto, and Sioux

South Central

Counties include: Appanoose, Davis, Hardin, Jefferson, Keokuk, Lucas, Mahaska, Marshall, Monroe, Poweshiek, Tama, Van Buren, Wapello, and Wayne


Counties include: Adair, Adams, Clarke, Decatur, Montgomery, Ringgold, Taylor, and Union 


Counties include: Audubon, Carroll, Cass, Cherokee, Crawford, Fremont, Greene, Guthrie, Harrison, Ida, Mills, Monona, Page, Plymouth, Pottawattamie, Sac, Shelby, and Woodbury