Regional Workforce Investment Boards


Legislation was passed in May 1996 to create a new state department, Iowa Workforce Development, and a State Board to streamline employment and training programs.  The Regional Workforce Investment Boards were also created by the legislation to give communities direct input and decision making ability to address local workforce-related priorities. The boards work closely with Iowa Workforce Development and the Iowa Workforce Development Board to create a system to help Iowans respond to the rapid changes occurring in today's workplace.

The boards' responsibilities include identifying local workforce development needs, assisting in the award of local service provider contracts and monitoring their performance and providing an annual report and recommendations to the Iowa Workforce Development Board.

Each board consists of a total of 14 members including representatives from the following groups: five-business, five-labor, one-city official, one-county elected official, one-school district representative and one-community college representative. The Region 8 Board has 28 members.

Careful consideration is made to include bi-partisan representation with a balance of gender and rural/urban populations representing Iowans from all 99 counties. The boards include a number of individuals experienced in employment and training issues as well as those with less experience to bring in fresh ideas. Local service providers and Iowa Workforce Development (IWD) staff are generally not selected for the board roles in order to avoid any conflict of interest.

In 1999, the Regional Advisory Boards assumed the responsibilities of the Regional Workforce Investment Boards under the federal Workforce Investment Act signed into law in August, 1998.

Regional Workforce Investment Boards by area include:

Region 1

(Counties include: Allamakee, Chickasaw, Clayton, Delaware, Dubuque, Fayette, Howard and Winneshiek)

Region 2

(Counties include: Cerro Gordo, Floyd, Franklin, Hancock, Mitchell, Winnebago and Worth)

Region 3 and 4

(Counties include: Buena Vista, Clay, Dickinson, Emmet, Kossuth, Lyon, Palo Alto, O'Brien, Osceola and Sioux)

Region 5

(Counties include: Calhoun, Hamilton, Humboldt, Pocahontas, Webster and Wright)

Region 6

(Counties include: Hardin, Marshall, Poweshiek and Tama)

Region 7

(Counties include: Black Hawk, Bremer, Buchanan, Butler and Grundy)

Region 8

(Counties include: Audubon, Carroll, Crawford, Greene. Guthrie and Sac)

Region 9

(Counties include: Clinton, Jackson, Muscatine and Scott)

Region 10

(Counties include: Benton, Cedar, Iowa, Johnson, Jones, Linn and Washington)

Region 11

(Counties include: Boone, Dallas, Jasper, Madison, Marion, Polk, Story and Warren)

Region 12

(Counties include: Cherokee, Ida, Monona, Plymouth and Woodbury)

Region 13

(Counties include: Cass, Fremont, Harrison, Mills, Page, Pottawattamie and Shelby)

Region 14

(Counties include: Adair, Adams, Clark, Decatur, Montgomery, Ringgold, Taylor and Union)

Region 15

(Counties include: Appanoose, Davis, Jefferson, Keokuk, Lucas, Mahaska, Monroe, Wapello, Wayne and Van Buren)

Region 16

(Counties include: Des Moines, Henry, Lee and Louisa)