Agency Overview

Iowa Workforce Development is a department within the executive branch of Iowa’s State Government. The department was established in 1996 by Iowa Code Chapter 84A with the purpose of administering the laws of Iowa relating to unemployment insurance, job placement and training, employment safety, labor standards, workers' compensation and much more.

Currently the Iowa Workforce Development is comprised of six Agency Divisions:

  • Administrative Services
  • Labor Services
  • Unemployment Insurance
  • Workers' Compensation
  • Labor Market and Workforce Information
  • Workforce Services