Iowa Workforce Development Implements Enhanced Delivery System


For Immediate Release: July 29, 2011
Contact: Kerry Koonce
Telephone: (515) 281-9646

Printer icon Printer Friendly PDF Version

Iowa Workforce Development Implements Enhanced Delivery System

DES MOINES – Iowa Workforce Development announced the revised workforce delivery system based on the new model of Local Access Points and Regional Integrated Centers on Friday.

“Multiple factors require Iowa to develop a new workforce system that is sustainable for the long term,” stated director Teresa Wahlert. “By ensuring that more Iowans have an opportunity for services in their own communities, we can provide services faster and more efficiently to more Iowans on a timely basis.”

Iowa’s current system has 55 field offices. The new, enhanced system will provide 16 regional integrated one-stop offices in Burlington, Carroll, Cedar Rapids, Council Bluffs, Creston, Davenport, Decorah, Des Moines, Dubuque, Fort Dodge, Marshalltown, Mason City, Ottumwa, Sioux City, Spencer and Waterloo. Additionally, there will be three satellite locations in Fort Madison, Iowa City and Webster City, and hundreds of locally enhanced access points through armories, private colleges, community action agencies, community colleges, County Veterans Affairs Offices, courthouses, public libraries and others. Currently, more than 60 access point locations are operational with over 190 workstations. This enhanced system will have greater availability to the public with evening and weekend hours, something not available in the current delivery model. Additionally, IWD will continue to enhance technology based services throughout the new system for the benefit of all clients. The workforce system will transition throughout late 2011 in two phases to ensure a process that meets the needs of training and set-up for each locally enhanced access point.

Offices transitioning in Phase One include: Algona, Atlantic, Boone, Centerville, Charles City, Cherokee, Clarinda, Denison, Emmetsburg, Estherville, Fairfield, Glenwood, Harlan, Humboldt, Iowa Falls, Keokuk, Manchester, Maquoketa, Mt. Pleasant, New Hampton, Oelwein, Orange City, Osceola, Oskaloosa, Pella, Perry, Pocahontas, Red Oak, Shenandoah, Washington and Waverly.

Offices transitioning in Phase Two include: Ames, Clinton, Muscatine, Newton and Storm Lake.

The Department expects the transition will be completed by December 31, 2011 and will affect 70-95 employees across the state.

Iowa Workforce Development and partners, provide comprehensive workforce services within the integrated IowaWORKS offices. 24/7 access to employment services, unemployment filings, job postings and more is available at